Virginia State Water Commission Meets July 16, 2013, in Richmond; Groundwater in Eastern Virginia and the State Water Resources Plan are Main Agenda Items

Virginia’s State Water Commission will meet July 16, 2013, at 2 p.m., in House Room D of the General Assembly Building in Richmond.

According to the Division of Legislative Service’s Web page on the Commission, at, the Virginia General Assembly created the Commission to “study all aspects of water supply and allocation problems in the Commonwealth, whether these problems are of a quantitative or qualitative nature; and coordinate the legislative recommendations of all other state entities having responsibilities with respect to water supply and allocation issues.”  The Commission primarily includes members of the General Assembly.

The main agenda items for the July 16 meeting are characterization of groundwater in eastern Virginia and the state water resources plan.

The current members of the Commission are as follows:
Delegate David L. Bulova
Delegate T. Scott Garrett
Delegate Barry D. Knight
Delegate John M. O’Bannon, III
Delegate Beverly J. Sherwood
Delegate Luke E. TorianDelegate R. Lee Ware, Jr.
Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
Senator Creigh R. Deeds
Senator Emmett W. Hanger, Jr.
Senator John C. Miller
Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr.
Senator Richard H. Stuart
James O. Icenhour, Jr.
Michael T. McEvoy

More information on the July 16 meeting is available at this link, or from the following contact people: Martin G. Farber, Divison of Legislative Services (804) 786-3591, ext. 230;
Barbara Teague, House Committee Operations (804) 698-1540.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s